Creating Quality eMail lists

I hate when I see something like:

“Get the top 100 tips for business success, Sign up below”

At this point you are prompted to provide your contact information in exchange for a white paper of some sort. Rarely is it the information I wanted and now my inbox has more SPAM coming into it.

 With the amount of free information on the internet I think this method of list building drives away more potential customers than it brings in. At this point, if I have to sign up for information then I will find it elsewhere. It just isn’t worth the hassle to opt-out.

 I opt-in when I find someone who has proven to me they provide valuable content. Share a portion of your knowledge publicly and let the reader choose if they want to learn more. This also provides a better list of subscribers as they will be more likely to open what you are sending instead of regarding it as SPAM.

~ by BRANDED Solutions on November 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
